Ticino Big Pilot Watch

Ticino Big Pilot Watch

I have the 44MM version (shown) and couldn’t be happier with my purchase.  With all of my other fascinations in life I do not have an extra $10,000 laying around buy the dreamy IWC Big Pilot so a friend referred me to the Ticino’s.  They are almost identical (vice a few gem stones and the refined Swiss touch), so $160 and a PayPay click later it was on it’s way from Florida.  It arrived a couple days later and to my surprise I couldn’t figure out how to get it on my wrist.  I had never experienced a deployant strap but within a few minutes I was the old pro (thanks to my watch snob buddies) .  Soon, I again took their advice and ordered two Maratac 4-ring NATO straps (one black and one OD green).   Wrapping this story up … I couldn’t be more delighted with the look feel of my new timepiece.  I think i’ll spend the remaining $9,840 elsewhere (maybe a MINI).

Keeping in line with the original B-uhr observers watch, which were made for WWII Luftwaffe of the 1940’s, Ticino decided to make a scaled back version from the originals that weighed in at 55mm to a more wearable 44mm. In doing so they decided to use a dependable 17-jewel hand wind movement fully finished and looking very attractive though the clear case back.

The case has nice contours and is in all brushed satin finish. The new case was CNC machined to have the bezel and case one piece. The bezel contours from crystal to case which allows such a watch to appear smaller on the wrist. Curved lugs make this a very comfortable to wear.

This watch typifies what the original creator’s were striving for 60 years ago, a large, clean dial which is simple but effective and easy to read.

If you’re in the market for a pilot style watch, this is definitely one to consider both for quality and price. We have yet to find anything similar.

44MM $155 or 47MM $180 from Sizzlin’ Watches

UPDATE:

A couple shots of this 44mm on a Vintager one of a kind made of SaddleBack Leather Utility Straps astride a juniper burl LaGuiole.

2 comments on “Ticino Big Pilot Watch

  1. […] HomeAbout « Ticino Big Pilot Watch Spotlight 12v […]

  2. […] in a 47mm case. Which, I must admit, is just a tad bit too big for me. Mouse here for Related LinksTicino Big Pilot WatchPosts Related to Nice Pilot Watches photosLaco Flieger Swiss ETA 2824 Automatic Pilot […]

Leave a Reply

