The Ian Schon Pen Project

I just love the concept of Kickstarter, and the Pen Project is exactly why so.  This engineering student “Ian Schon” decides to kick off his career as a designer with an extremely simple, elegant “user in mind” pen and I have the privilege of being a direct beneficiary.  When I saw the kickstarter listing for the pen I sent a link to a close friend and gadget admirer who he felt it was the perfect Christmas wish list item for Mr. Pocket Macho .. so he backed 2 pens and I am a member of the elite.  Now; I have been known to dabble in leatherwork so decided to assemble a wallet similar to my bullet space pen wallets to secure my new writing instrument from becoming lost (photo below).

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Body and Cap made from 6061 Aluminum Outer Diameter= 0.5”, Length=4″ (closed) 5-3/4″ (open)
  • Setscrew is ¼-20, 3/8″, Brass
  • Pressurized ink cartridge from Fisher in Boulder City Nevada (spr4)
  • Production run: Local to Massachusetts:
    •   Custom slotted brass setscrews
    •   Bodies/cap
    •   Cutting and printing
    •   Assembly
  • 100% MA, USA made!

Visit Ian’s site or buy direct from Ball&Buck $58

My wallet design

Pen Project Wallet

 

One comment on “The Ian Schon Pen Project

  1. […] Ian Schon Pen Project […]

Leave a Reply

